Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology
Towards Predictable and Deterministic Synthesis of Colloidal Metal Nanocrystals

Recent studies suggest that reduction kinetics plays an essential role in determining the outcome of a synthesis of colloidal metal nanocrystals. The reduction rate not only controls the internal defect structure of seeds formed in the nucleation step, but also dictates the growth pattern (symmetric versus asymmetric) or mode (layer-by-layer versus island) of the seeds in the following step. In this talk, I will start with a brief introduction to our recent success in quantifying the reduction kinetics for a number of systems and then illustrate how this knowledge can be applied to deepen our understanding of the nucleation and growth of nanocrystals, moving toward the ultimate goal of achieving predictable and deterministic synthesis, together with an easy and quantitative control. The quantitative knob based upon reduction kinetics will enable us to precisely and reproducibly tailor the properties of colloidal metal nanocrystals for a broad range of applications.

About Younan Xia

Younan Xia holds the Brock Family Chair and GRA Eminent Scholar in Nanomedicine at Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his BS degree from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1987, MS degree from the University of Pennsylvania (with Alan G. MacDiarmid) in 1993, and PhD degree from Harvard University (with George M. Whitesides) in 1996. 

His group invented a myriad of nanomaterials for applications in catalysis, plasmonics, electronics, display, energy and medicine. His technology on silver nanowires has been commercialized for the fabrication of flexible, transparent and conductive films central to touchscreen display and flexible electronics. 

Xia has co-authored >700 publications in peer-reviewed journals, together with a total citation of >110,000 and an h-index of >170. He has been named a Top 10 Chemist and Materials Scientist in the world. He has received many prestigious awards, including the ACS National Award in the Chemistry of Materials, NIH Director’s Pioneer Award and NSF CAREER Award.